Wanneroo & Districts shortened its name to Wanneroo Historical Society

and added a temporary logo until a new digital logo will be made

In August 2022 the committee is

Cr Jacqui Huntley President

Derek Donegan Vice President

Meg Birch Treasurer

Pat La Frentz Secretary

Society Launched in 1989

The Wanneroo Historical Society was launched by the City of Wanneroo through its Historical Sites Advisory Committee on the 23 February 1989 in the City’s then Administration Centre at Joondalup.

The meeting was called by Committee chairman Cr Bill Marwick, with the support of Senior Wanneroo Council Officer Ms Margaret Cockman. The City’s Recreation Department headed by Mr Ron Banham organised the evening and provided the venue.

The guest list was organised by Ms Cockman and included descendants of Wanneroo Pioneer families. More than 100 residents attended the meeting with 101 signing on as Foundation Members.

The Foundation President and executive committee elected were:

President: Cr Phil Renkin

Vice President: Cr Bill Marwick

Secretary: Ms Margaret Cockman

Treasurer: Mr Russell Hosken

Committee Members: Mrs Ailsa Hosken, Mr Phil Gibbs and Mr Tony Martin.

The following year Cr Renkin resigned as president due to community commitments in Two Rocks and Yanchep. He was replaced by Cr Bill Marwick.

The current committee consists of the following members